A Word with Brandon Cook

Facebook Twitter

Brandon Cook 
Intern with Metropolitan’s Family Violence Intervention Program

In light of February being Teen Dating Violence Prevention and Awareness Month, a member of Metropolitan’s Family Violence Intervention Program was chosen to blog this week. Learn more about Brandon in the questionnaire below and be sure to look for his featured post on Thursday!

How did you become involved with Metropolitan?

I am completing my Master’s and field placement with the Family Violence Intervention Program at the Midway Center.

What’s your favorite inspirational quote?

“This book had to written sometime, and as far as I know, nobody has yet written it.”
Walter Rauschenbusch

How can people best help others?

Start with compassion.  Being there for a person and seeing them as a whole being can change their world.  But never assume that is the end.  If a person is hungry, they will starve if they don’t get food, with or without your good intentions.  Second, find something you are passionate about and become an expert on it.  You cannot help everybody, but when you do help, put your full self into it.  Finally, think about the word “help”.  You are not taking over or dictating.  Listen to what needs people have, and what they want you to do about it.

What are some of your favorite things about Chicago?

Public transportation.  Native Chicagoans may not share this appreciation, but my hometown didn’t have buses, much less trains.  I love being able to get around the city so freely.

What’s your biggest hope for the future?

I hope that at the end of my life, I know that I lived every moment with integrity, and I found the places I could do my work the best.  Plus, I hope that there was some fun along the way.

Stay tuned for Brandon’s blog feature on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

