Happy National Volunteer Week!

This week is National Volunteer Week and we’re celebrating by highlighting some of our dedicated volunteers at Metropolitan Family Services.

Marina

Meet Marina

“I was introduced to Metropolitan Family Services while working on ‘Make a Child Smile’, an annual family fundraiser event in 2010. I was stricken by how involved both the MFS staff and committee members were with the event to make sure that it not only raised funds for the families in need, but also created a fun and friendly environment for kids and parents that attended. After this event, I was happy to join the team of dedicated employees as a volunteer at the general office downtown. Being a “Jack of all trades”, I assist multiple departments to reach their objectives of serving clients. This is very rewarding, as I get to see firsthand the importance of the work I am doing on a daily basis. Though I am not in direct contact with the clients of the organization, I know that in this difficult economic time every little bit helps.

Although I volunteer for the organization, it is fair to say that I volunteer for kids who are in the Head Start program in our DuPage center to empower them to learn; I volunteer for victims of domestic violence to empower them to heal; I volunteer for the Upward Bound program at our Calumet center to empower kids to thrive; I volunteer for single dads to empower them to earn. I volunteer to empower Chicago-area families.

I will continue to volunteer and help Metropolitan Family Services every way I can because knowing that what I do changes 53,000 lives a year is the biggest reward one can think of achieving.”

Facebook  Twitter
Leave a Reply

